Opinion · Court of Appeals of Wisconsin
Blue Cross & Blue Shield United v. Heritage Mutual Insurance
188 Wis. 2d 68
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Court of Appeals of Wisconsin
- Jurisdiction
- Wisconsin
- Date
- 1994-09-29
- Topic
- general
EICH, C.J. Pearl and Richard Gurney appeal from a summary judgment dismissing their personal injury action against Lubrication Station, Inc., and its insurer, Heritage Mutual Insurance Company.1 The Gurneys sued after Pearl Gurney was injured when she fell into an open pit at a Lubrication Station. The defendants moved for summary judgment on grounds that the action was not commenced within the three-year limitation period for personal injury claims set forth in § 893.54, Stats. *70The sole issue on appeal is whether a payment made by Heritage Mutual to Pearl Gurney and her physician was a "payment" within the meaning of § 893.12, Stats., which extends the statute of limitations in certain situations where payments are made to personal injury claimants. We conclude that the payment made in this case was not one contemplated by § 893.12 and we therefore affirm the judgment. There is no factual dispute.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Blue Cross & Blue Shield United v. Heritage Mutual Insurance. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 1 opinion
Pearl and Richard Gurney appeal from a summary judgment dismissing their personal injury action against Lubrication Station, Inc., and its insurer, Heritage Mutual Insurance Company.1 The Gurneys sued after Pearl Gurney was injured when she fell into an open pit at a Lubrication Station. The defendants moved for summary judgment on grounds that the action was not commenced within the three-year limitation period for personal injury claims set forth in § 893.54, Stats.
There is no factual dispute. The Gurneys, claiming that Pearl Gurney's injuries were caused by the negligence of Lubrication Station in several respects, brought this action more than seven months after the applicable statute of limitations had run. As indicated, the trial court agreed with Heritage Mutual's assertion that the action was time-barred and granted the motion for summary judgment.
Some time after Pearl Gurney's fall, Heritage Mutual, acting under the medical payment provisions of Lubrication Station's policy, issued a check in the amount of $248.50 made out jointly to Pearl Gurney and the medical center at which she had been .treated for her injuries. The Gurneys argue on appeal that the payment extended the statute of limitations for the filing of their suit and they rely on § 893.12, Stats., which extends the limitation period for commencement of personal injury actions in situations where "a payment is made as described in s. 885.285(1)." Sections 893.12 and 885.285, STATS., provide, in relevant part, as follows:
893.12 The period fixed for the limitation for the commencement of actions, if a payment is made as described in s. 885.285(1), shall be either the period of time remaining under the original statute of limitations or 3 years from the date of the last payment made under s. 885.285(1), whichever is greater.
*71 885.285 (1) No admission of liability shall be inferred from the following:
(a) A settlement with or any payment made to an injured person, or to another on behalf of any injured person, or any person entitled to recover damages on account of injury or death of such person.
Heritage Mutual argued successfully to the trial court that because the medical payment provisions of its policy are not related to the fault or liability of its insured, the payment made to Pearl Gurney was not one contemplated by § 885.285(1), STATS.
Section 885.285(1), STATS., begins by stating that "[n]o admission of liability" is to be inferred from the described payments, and goes on to refer to "settlement [s] ” or payments made to injured persons or others "entitled to recover damages on account of injury or death of such person[s]." (Emphasis added.) While the legislature's incorporation of the language of § 885.285(1) into § 893.12, STATS., makes the result less than entirely clear, we agree with the trial court that the net effect of merging the two statutes is that the limitation period is extended under § 893.12 only when payments related to settlement of disputed claims, or to considerations of fault or liability, are made on behalf of the insured.
The Gurneys disagree, arguing that any payment whatsoever — even if it is unrelated to any dispute or legal claim of the parties — should operate to extend the statute of limitations. We believe, however, that their interpretation stretches § 893.12, Stats., to its breaking point.2 Indeed, we recognized in H. A. Freitag &
Our statement in Freitag that the payments contemplated by §§ 893.12 and 885.285(1), STATS., are those related to "damage claims" — claims relating to liability or fault — finds support in ARNOLD P. ANDERSON, Wisconsin Insurance Law § 10.10, at 298 (3d ed. 1990), where the author states, "Read literally," the reference to "liability" in § 885.285(1) indicates that "this statute may not apply to a first-party coverage payment such
We conclude, therefore, that in order to toll or extend the statute of limitations, the "payment" specified in § 885.285(1), STATS., must be related to considerations of fault or liability. If it is not fault- or liability-related, it does not extend the limitation period. And our reading of the medical payment provisions of the Heritage Mutual policy satisfies us that its payment to Pearl Gurney falls in the latter category.
The relevant policy language is contained in a section headed "MEDICAL PAYMENTS COVERAGE-GARAGE LOCATIONS AND OPERATIONS," and reads as follows:
We will pay reasonable medical and funeral expenses to or for each person who sustains bodily injury to which this coverage applies, caused by an accident and resulting from:
a. The maintenance or use of the locations stated in the Declarations and that portion of the roads or other accesses that adjoin these locations for garage business.
b. All operations necessary or incidental to a garage business.
The Heritage Mutual policy thus conditions some payments on the insured's liability. However, consistent with medical payment provisions generally,3 medical payments under the policy are not so conditioned.
Because the $248.50 payment made to Pearl Gurney and her physician under the medical payment provisions of the Heritage Mutual policy was unrelated to Lubrication Station's fault or liability with respect to Gurney's injuries, it did not operate to extend or toll the statute of limitations for the Gurneys' action under §§ 893.12 and 885.285(1), STATS.
The trial court also granted summary judgment to Wisconsin Quick Lube, Inc., the company that took over operation of the business subsequent to the incident causing Pearl Gurney's injuries.
The only case cited by the Gurneys in support of their position is Abraham v. Milwaukee Mut. Ins. Co., 115 Wis. 2d 678, 341 N.W.2d 414 (Ct. App. 1983), and they direct us to
In Severson v. Milwaukee Auto. Ins. Co., 265 Wis. 488, 491, 61 N.W.2d 872, 874 (1953), the supreme court discussed the then "relatively new" medical payment provisions in liability policies, quoting with approval from the precursor to 8A JOHN A Appleman and Jean Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice § 4902, at 225 (1981), to the effect that such provisions are akin to "personal-accident poliches]" in that payments made under them are "completely independent of liability on the part of the insured."